Is This Blog For Real, Or Just Ironic? (Oliver Perez)

This man does not deserve a fan blog. He deserves a demotion.

This man does not deserve a fan blog. He deserves a demotion.

There is actually a blog titled Musings of an Oliver Perez Fan.

No, seriously: http://oliverperezfan.blogspot.com/

The blog describes itself as “Thoughts on Ollie, Baseball, Fantasy, Baseball cards, humor, and anything else that crosses my mind.” (No word on whether that last part includes Star Trek conventions and comic books.)

Okay, really??? An Oliver Perez fan blog???

Actually, I’m pretty impressed that Ollie’s mom is hip to blogging. And she loves cell phones!

No, really. It says so in the “contact me” section:

If you need anything or want to chat baseball, life, technology, wireless phones – then send me an e-mail … Also, if you have any Oliver Perez cards from 2002 that you think I might be interested in – by all means please send me an e-mail. Just because it is posted here that I have a bunch doesn’t mean I don’t want more!!!!!!!!!!!!

I can’t make this stuff up, folks.

As of this posting, the blog hadn’t been updated since April 23, after Ollie’s third start of the season. He’s had two starts since, including yesterday’s disastrous performance (2 1/3 IP, 4 ER, 6 BB) in the Mets’ 6-5 loss to the Phillies in 10 innings. Has it not been updated out of shame?

Look, joking aside, it takes mad balls to have a fan blog devoted to a player as awful as Oliver Perez. But I have to wonder: Of all the athletes, how does Oliver Perez become a person’s favorite baseball player?

I guess blood is thicker than performance.

Leave a Reply

